

CORPORATION OF THE TOWNSHIP OF ESQUIMALT

NOTICE OF BY-ELECTION BY VOTING

PUBLIC NOTICE IS HEREBY given to the electors of the Township of Esquimalt that a byelection by voting is necessary to elect one (1) Councillor, and that the persons nominated as candidates and for whom votes will be received are:

Councillor - One (1) to be elected

Last Name	Usual Name	Residential Address or Jurisdiction of Residence
AVERY	Ed	506 Joffre Street, Esquimalt, B.C.
BOUMAN	Cornelis Daniel	Esquimalt, B.C.
BRAME	Meagan Dorothy	442 Grafton Street, Esquimalt, B.C.
COURTRIGHT	Holly	Victoria, B.C.
MCCULLOUGH	Marcus	Victoria, B.C.
MYERS	James Thomas	Esquimalt, B.C.
STEWART	Shawn	432 Moresby Street, Esquimalt, B.C.
THOMSON	Kody	Esquimalt, B.C.

GENERAL VOTING DAY will be open to qualified electors of the Township of Esquimalt on:

Date:	Time:	Location:
April 5, 2025	8:00 a.m. – 8:00 p.m.	527 Fraser St, Esquimalt Recreation Centre Gym

ADVANCE VOTING OPPORTUNITIES will be available to qualified electors as follows:

Date:	Time:	Location:
March 26, 2025	8:00 a.m. – 8:00 p.m.	1070 Tillicum Road, Esquimalt Gorge Park Pavilion
		Lower Hall
April 2, 2025	8:00 a.m. – 8:00 p.m.	1151 Esquimalt Road, Archie Browning Sports
		Centre Curling Arena (entrance at back parking
		lot)

MAIL BALLOT VOTING is available to qualified electors as follows:

To request a mail ballot package please submit an <u>application</u> to the Township of Esquimalt Chief Election Officer before 4:00 p.m. on Tuesday, April 1, 2025. Applications are available at Municipal Hall, 1229 Esquimalt Rd, Esquimalt, BC, V9A 3P1, or online at <u>www.esquimalt.ca</u>. Please note that applications received after 4:00 p.m. on March 25, 2025, will not be mailed out due to mail delivery limitations and alternate arrangements for pick up will need to be made.

To be counted, completed mail ballots must be received by the Chief Election Officer prior to 8:00 p.m. on Saturday, April 5, 2025

ELECTOR REGISTRATION

If you are not on the list of electors, you may register at the time of voting by completing the application form available at the voting place and making a declaration that you meet the qualifications to be registered as follows:

Resident Electors:

- 18 years of age or older on general voting day for the election;
- a Canadian citizen;
- a resident of British Columbia for at least 6 months immediately before the day of registration;
- a resident of the Township of Esquimalt on the day of registration; and
- not disqualified under the *Local Government Act* or any other enactment from voting in an election and not otherwise disqualified by law.

Resident electors must produce at least 2 pieces of identification that provide evidence of your identity and residency (at least one with a signature). Picture identification is not necessary.

Non-Resident Property Electors:

- 18 years of age or older on general voting day for the election;
- a Canadian citizen;
- a resident of British Columbia for at least 6 months immediately before the day of registration;
- a registered owner of real property in the Township of Esquimalt for at least 30 days immediately before the day of registration;
- not entitled to register as a resident elector; and
- not disqualified under the *Local Government Act* or any other enactment from voting in an election and not otherwise disqualified by law.

Please note that the title of the property can not be in the name of an individual who is holding the property in trust for a corporation or another trust.

Non-Resident property electors must provide 2 pieces of identification (at least one with a signature) to prove their identity, proof that they are entitled to register in relation to the property, and, if there is more than one owner, written consent from the majority of the property owners. A Non-resident Property Elector Consent Form is available at the Municipal Hall or by emailing elections@esquimalt.ca. Original signatures are required.

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION on the voting process, please visit <u>www.esquimalt.ca/elections</u> or contact:

Email: <u>elections@esquimalt.ca</u>,

or

Deb Hopkins Chief Election Officer, 250-414-7135 or Sarah Holloway, Deputy Chief Election Officer, 250-414-7157 Victoria McKean, Deputy Chief Election Officer, 250-414-7119